Kathleen McGurl – The Storm Girl @rararesources @KathMcGurl @HQStories #TheStormGirl #SharonBTB

I am pleased to say I have The Storm Girl by Kathleen McGurl on my blog today. Thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources and HQ digital for my copy of the book.

The gripping new historical novel from the USA Today bestselling author of The Girl from Bletchley Park and The Forgotten Secret.

A heartbreaking choice. A secret kept for centuries.

1784. When Esther Harris’s father hurts his back, she takes over his role helping smugglers hide contraband in the secret cellar in their pub. But when the free traders’ ships are trapped in the harbour, a battle between the smugglers and the revenue officers leads to murder and betrayal – and Esther is forced to choose between the love of her life and protecting her family…

Present day. Fresh from her divorce, Millie Galton moves into a former inn overlooking the harbour in Mudeford and plans to create her dream home. When a chance discovery behind an old fireplace reveals the house’s secret history as a haven for smugglers and the devastating story of its former residents, could the mystery of a disappearance from centuries ago finally be solved?

Sweeping historical fiction perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kathryn Hughes and Tracy Rees.

A sweeping historical romance fiction novel with dual timelines will always catch my attention. One that had been written by Kathleen McGurl has my attention, full stop!

Set in 1784 and the present day in Mudeford, near Christchurch, Dorset. This captivating tale introduces us to Esther Harris whose father runs the Anchor Pub in 1784. It is a time when smuggling is rife and the pub plays a large role in helping the community and the smugglers in this endeavour. I was so swept up in the danger of betrayal and the suspense of this se tion of the story. Kathleen McGurl, again, brings Dorset of the 1700s vibrantly alive with her intricately detailed setting.

Present day sees Millie Galton moving into a historic building that was previously an Inn. We join her on her journey while restoring it as sympathetically as possible. As the renovations begin to take place, long held secrets of the building are uncovered.

This is an expertly woven dual timeline that is so cleverly linked. It was a compulsive read for me. Kathleen McGurl never fails to entertain, and even educate me at times. Her characters are always relatable in some way or other. I was more drawn to the historical side of this story. Esther was a character I felt real empathy for.

As always magnificent storytelling that transported me back to the 18th century so effectively. I felt every bit of drama and danger as if I was with Esther and that’s the sign of a great read in my eyes. The authors notes at the end were so interesting to read as well. They made the book even more realistic for me.

Anyone who loves their historical fiction to have plenty of suspense, danger and even romance, this may be for you.

Purchase Links

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Storm-Girl-Sweeping-historical-fiction-ebook/dp/B09VYLVP58/

US https://www.amazon.com/Storm-Girl-Sweeping-historical-fiction-ebook/dp/B09VYLVP58/

Author Bio

Kathleen McGurl lives near the coast in Christchurch, England. She writes dual timeline novels in which a historical mystery is uncovered and resolved in the present day. She is married to an Irishman and has two adult sons. She enjoys travelling, especially in her motorhome around Europe but home is Mudeford, where this novel is set.

Social Media Links – 

https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: