John Everson – Voodoo Heart

‘Voodoo Heart’ by John Everson is an absolutely perfect read for this particular time of year. A supernatural thriller, it has all the ingredients needed to tick all of my boxes anyway. It was the cover if this marvellous book that drew me in and the fact that the publisher Flame Tree Press has given me some of my best reads of this year along with Orenda Books.

John Everson

As the title so clearly suggests this story is entwined with Voodoo and all things that make you wanna read in daylight. Set in New Orleans also, well, that just about tops it off for me.
People seem to be going on the missing list with great frequency and in bizarre circumstances. Then one-morning Detective Lawrence Ribaud wakes to find his wife gone, leaving behind nothing but a bloody bed. Now it is personal as well! Just one night each month people are disappearing leaving behind a heart and a pool of blood.

He doesn’t believe in Voodoo but he is soon up to his neck in Voodoo Lore and the snakes, curses and blood that are all part of these rituals. Will he be able to unravel this strange and creepy mystery or will he become part of it?

Well, Detective Ribaud is not my normal type of Detective, he has his way of getting things done. This makes him a unique kind of man for me. He is very memorable and I won’t be forgetting this man or book in a hurry. A story that spared no details in the graphic scenes and made me cringe the odd time. A truly compelling read that, even with the graphic parts had me hanging on to every word. A fascinating book all in all, that has entertained and educated me you could say, in the art of voodoo, well! You never know when I may need it these days do you?

Thanks to Random Things Tours and Flame Tree Press for my copy of this spooky fascinating book to write my review.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “John Everson – Voodoo Heart

Leave a comment