M.M. Chouinard – The Other Mothers

‘The Other Mothers’ by M.M Chouinard is the fourth book in the Detective Jo Fournier series, set in Harristown, New England.

M.M. Chouinard

Jo is called back into work early from her enforced medical leave due to a serious incident at Briar Ridge Elementary school, one that Jo’s own nieces go to as well. A five-year-old girl, Nicole, has gone missing during playtime while surrounded by all the other children and various adults. Her body is discovered by a teacher, lying near two dumpsters, and a puffer jacket covering her face. This is an investigation that will shake the school and the community to their very cores. Karen Phelps, one of the adults in the playground at the time of Nicole’s disappearance is a good friend of Nicole’s mum and when interviewed has all the right words to say but something doesn’t feel right. Nicole’s mum, Gia when notified of Nicole’s death reacts very strangely, as does Nicole’s dad, Anthony. He point blank refuses to leave work to speak with the police about his daughter. Leaving Jo with her suspicions running wild, and with an investigation that seems to be matching her suspicions, running wild, after another dead body is discovered.

This is actually one series that I have not read previously, so I start here! I found it was a book that can be read on its own with enough of Jo’s backstory to fill me in and get me up to speed. This book is like a spiders web, it begins quite slowly but as you read you need to know more as the case builds and everything starts to link up. I liked how the tension and pace built it had me hooked until I had finished. I thought the misdirection worked really well in keeping the tension up, one minute I thought I knew who it was and then something happened that changed my mind.

A well-written story that I thoroughly thought was amazing. As I always find when I read a book from the middle of a series, now I want to read them all! Just a shame I need to sleep.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the book for me to write this review.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

Leave a comment