Cory Anderson – What Beauty There Is

‘What Beauty There is’ by Cory Anderson has a cover that makes you stop and just take it in. “When Everything You Love Is In Danger. How Long Can You Keep Running To Survive?” Two sentences on the front cover that just called out to me… I just had to pick it up and read, which I did in two days.

Cory Anderson

A story about Jack, a young boy who has the weight of his family’s issues heavy on his shoulders. I was invested in him and his little brother Matty immediately. They struggle from day to day managing to survive in the most traumatic and heart-rending living situations you could imagine.

My heart went straight out to Jack. A boy who you instantly want to look after along with Matty and even Ava. I read the full book cheering them on and hoping all would be well.
Cory Anderson’s writing is perfect. She has created a compelling and immersive story that has a fabulous pace. There is always one book that comes along that is just spot on in every way, for April 2021 this book is that one. I felt like I was side by side with these characters as the story unfolded and the levels of the circumstances increased to horrific.

A book that targets the Young Adult range but, as a mother and adult this story had me mesmerised throughout. A dark and very unsettling story that shows us the determination of Jack to overcome his hurdles. He is a driven child that wants to improve their lives and break away from their past. As I said I wanted to sweep him up and protect this boy all the way through.

This is a debut novel and wow, it is an impressive piece of writing for a first book. I do look forward to what Cory does next.

Many thanks to #TheWriteReads for asking me to take part in this #blogtour and sending me a copy of the book.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

One thought on “Cory Anderson – What Beauty There Is

Leave a comment