Graham Austin-King – The Lore of Prometheus

‘The Lore of Prometheus’ by Graham Austin-King is a modern fantasy thriller that also has danger and action to go with the magic. It is the winner of BBNYA and a worthy one at that!

Graham Austin-King

Don’t drink in the daytime, don’t gamble when the luck has gone, and don’t talk to the dead people who come to visit. These are three rules John Carver lives by. He is an ex-soldier and war veteran, a man that has experienced danger, stood face to face with it and come out the other side…just. His squad was killed in Kabul five years earlier and since that day, his life has been different. Be it crazy, or PTSD, depending on who you talk to about him, that is John Carver…then some call him the miracle of Kabul. John decides to return to Afghanistan due to needing cash. This time as a security consultant, again, danger closes in and he finds he has to use his power again as he did five years ago. There is a nurse who works in Kabul, who is kidnapped while going home from work, Mackenzie Cartwright who I liked as a character as she is strong and you see this appear after her kidnap.

The story is told through John and also Mackenzie’s eyes. A book that immediately grabbed me and I found I really could not tear myself away for any length of time. If you want a light read this is not for you, it is dark, atmospheric and not for the easily upset by violence. I do have to say that the violence involved just increases the realism of the story. I feel that the author has done so much research to give us the correct names for the weapons and everything else.

I haven’t read anything by Graham Austin-King and when I was invited by The Write Reads to join in this tour and I read the synopsis I was intrigued enough to say yes. I am so glad I did, no wonder this book won the BBYNA. It is so good!

Thanks to The Write Reads and Graham Austin-King for the copy of the book and my place on the tour.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

One thought on “Graham Austin-King – The Lore of Prometheus

Leave a comment