Emily Barr – Things To Do Before The End Of The World

‘Things To Do Before The End Of The World’ by Emily Barr is a YA dystopian thriller that I, for one couldn’t put down.

Emily Barr

A story that introduces us to Libby and the list her cousin gives her to do during the last summer that the majority of the world will see. Upon beginning the book, I had the idea it was about the end of the world, as the story unfolds we see it isn’t exactly about that. It is more about a young girl maturing and growing in confidence.

Libby and her cousin Natasha are like chalk and cheese. Libby the introvert and Natasha well, extroverted and happy go lucky are two ways to describe her. As they get together and Natasha almost manipulates Libby into situations the reader (or me) can see Natasha has an agenda that Libby doesn’t realise. Libby just feels she needs to be confident and Natasha is doing her best to help.

Well, what can I say I could see it a mile of with Natasha but poor Libby, all she wanted was to connect so she took her cousin for face value and ignored the warning signs. My heart went out to her, Natasha I did not like one bit! The characters were fabulously developed with the shy Libby and outgoing Natasha. They both stood out and had their own voices…although I wished Natasha was a bit quieter!

The ending of the world gave the novel that tense edge, would they survive or not? I enjoyed the story and will be letting my daughter read it also, seeing as it is YA too.

Massive thanks to The Write Reads for giving me a spot in this fab tour. It has been an honour.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

One thought on “Emily Barr – Things To Do Before The End Of The World

Leave a comment