Kevin McManus – Nine Lives

‘Nine lives’ by Kevin McManus is a Detective Ray Logue Mystery usually set in Ireland. I really enjoyed the previous book with Ray Logue as the main character so was looking forward to settling down and getting stuck into this book.

Kevin McManus

In Western Ireland in 1979, Hazel Devereaux, a student of Trinity College in Dublin, goes missing while working at a summer job. Six months later her body is discovered in a shallow grave. A line from a poem by Edgar Allan Poe entitled “A Paean” is discovered in an envelope at the house Hazel was renting. Thirty years later, Detective Ray Logue discovers that a series of murders in Boston appear to be connected to the killings in 1979. Each victim also received a line from the poem by Edgar Allan Poe delivered to their homes.
A serial killer is at work and has claimed seven lives so far. The murderer kills two victims every ten years, always on a year ending in nine, always on the same dates in June and December.

With less than two weeks until the killer strikes again, Logue is dispatched to Boston to work alongside Detective Olivia Callaghan and Inspector Sam Harper to discover the identity of the murderer and to stop him before he strikes again.

This time Logue is in America attempting to solve the case instead of Ireland and without McGarry too. He instead, is sent to work with Boston police officers Harper and Callaghan in a race against time as there have been seven murders up to this point and yet another in a fortnight. Can Logue, Harper and Callaghan find the killer before another murder is committed.

Again another novella-length book that allowed me to read in one go. Kevin McManus is clearly settling into Logue now and this makes ‘Nine Lives’ even better than the first book. His characters are all so well written that I felt like I could have been with real people. I am certainly looking forward to the next book to see where he takes Ray Logue next.

Thanks to ZooLoo’s Book Tours, SpellBound Books and Kevin McManus for the copy of the book.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: