Michelle Kidd – Guilt

Guilt by Michelle Kidd is the first in a new series featuring D.I. Nikki Hardcastle. I have read every book of Michelle’s and am a massive fan of hers. I never doubted for one minute that it would be a fabulous book and I was so right!

Michelle Kidd

D.I. Nikki Hardcastle is a fantastic character – not only is she intelligent, bloody-minded and determined, she also has a great sense of humour which is always fun. On the other hand, she has a past that she carries with her and sometimes it can cause her issues with her work as we discover in ‘Guilt’.

Is a killer born…. or created?
A missing child.
A killer on the loose.
A past that refuses to die.

When a six-year-old boy disappears from a local fair, every parent’s worst nightmare is about to come true.
And for Detective Inspector Nicki Hardcastle, twenty-two years after her own nightmare began, the past she thought was buried starts catching up with her – and fast.
Leading the hunt for the missing child, Nicki soon finds the chase takes on a personal twist, with her memories haunting her every move.
With time set against them, and a killer following his own chilling agenda, can Nicki and her team stop history from repeating itself? Only time will tell. But it’s time they don’t have.

A real fast-paced gritty story that introduces us to Nikki and her team, who are by the way a great team with characters that are all well developed and I am impatiently waiting to see where Michelle Kidd is going to take them all. She has such skill in keeping the reader hanging on to every word. A story full of twists, turns and red herrings that all had me guessing until all was revealed. Michelle has had the audacity to leave us with a teeny tiny cliffhanger, and THAT is going to have me asking her every week how book number two is coming along!

This book had me glued to my seat until I was being moaned at to feed the family so I had to leave my kindle alone for a little bit! An addictive book that I was hooked from the beginning until the very last tense paragraph of this book.

Thank you to ZooLoo’s Book Tours and Michelle Kidd for my place on the tour and the gifted copy of the book.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

One thought on “Michelle Kidd – Guilt

Leave a comment