Jim Ody – Camp Death

‘Camp Death’ is Book 1 in a new series brought to you by Question Mark Horror. For fans of Point Horror, Christopher Pike & Nicholas Pine. I am an avid follower of Jim Ody’s work and find whatever he writes always hits the mark. This novella is aimed at the Young Adult market and it’s as well written as his full-length stories.

Jim Ody

The place had a gruesome past that nobody wanted to talk about…
Camp Death is now a great place to spend the summer. Ritchie soon finds a group of outsiders like himself. Teenagers who ignore the organised activities, and bunk off in the old abandoned cabins deep in the woods. The cabins that have a history.
The campfire monster stories were meant to just scare them. Nobody expected them to come true. Then one of the teenagers disappears in the middle of the night.

Something is watching them. It hides in the woods and hunts at night.
Ritchie will have to uncover the secrets of the camp and understand his own problems to survive.

A fast-paced story with characters that Jim Ody has done a marvellous job creating. Every one of the teens have their own personalities and we see them all with their false bravado, as kids do, so scared beneath the surface but showing off to the girls in the group. The story is one that had me intrigued all the way through, I was guessing all the time and I never got it right.

The conclusion, when it arrived, just finished this story off for me. I didn’t have a clue what was coming and that’s how I like my books.

Thanks to Zoé of ZooLoo’s Book Tours and Question Mark Press for my gifted copy of the book and I shall be back next week with Ouija by Zoé-Lee O’Farell book 2 in the series.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

One thought on “Jim Ody – Camp Death

Leave a comment