Jane Badrock – The Ice Maiden

The Ice Maiden is the second book of Jane Badrock’s that I have read. The first one was a fabulous read and I was banking on this to be just as good or even better. The verdict is in… I couldn’t put it down!

Jane Badrock

The synopsis and cover drew me to this book, as well as knowing how good an author Jane Badrock is. Maddie is a twenty-year-old university student studying mathematics. When her mum dies from kidney failure, she realises she didn’t even know her at all. Maddie attempted to be a kidney donor for her mum and discovers the man she thought was her dad isn’t, and as she arranges the funeral finds her Aunt Celia is another one keeping secrets. She begins to have a frightening dream almost constantly and wonders is it the grief or something scarier?

Maddie decides to try to find her real dad and the truth of her dreams. This puts her on a dangerous path that puts her own life in danger. As events begin to spiral out of control Maddie realises the clock is ticking and it may be her next.

Told from Maddie’s viewpoint this is such a fast-paced read, I was gripped from the beginning. The intrigue had me sat on the edge of my seat. We are taken back in time to the past and then back to the present day where she is attempting to solve her own mysteries in her life while knowing she could be in danger.

Again Jane Badrock has written a belter. I felt for Maddie throughout and she brought my maternal side out. Jane has created characters that are so real they almost jump out of the page as I always find with her work. The twists and turns are perfectly placed to make this a thriller that ticked every single one of the boxes needed to keep me sat there reading until I had done. I am really hoping Jane has another book in process! I love her writing.

Thanks to ZooLoo’s Book Tours and Question Mark Press for my copy of the book.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Jane Badrock – The Ice Maiden

Leave a comment