Zoé-Lee O’Farrell – Ouija

‘Ouija’ by Zoé-Lee O’Farrell is her debut novel and the second book in the Question Mark Horror Series. I was so looking forward to reading Zoé’s book and that cover just smacks you in the face! Love it.

Zoé-Lee O’Farrell

Once a prestigious high school, Rayner High School, now stands in ruins after a horrific incident. One year after a group of friends decide to return on one fateful night. It isn’t till it is too late they realise their terrible mistake.

From the start of this story, I was already tense, wondering what else this author could bring us. The opening scene is dark, disturbing and told from the past. It definitely kept me on my toes wanting more. Then we are back in the present day where we are introduced to a group of six friends, who decide to go to Rayner High School and mess about with a ouija board. Well, now my internal ‘that’s not a good idea’ alarm was going off! I knew nothing good comes from that sort of idea.

As the story unfolds, we begin to get to know the characters and their friendships. The author has depicted them all really well, I felt these kids were really authentic, their friendships and their issues all seemed so real and ones that anyone could relate to.

The story is told from the present day and slips back in time to show us the events from the past. I really was totally immersed, it was a good job I was reading it in the day! I would have had no chance at night. I was so creeped out I got goosebumps too! I have to admit that at one point someone knocked on the door and I jumped a mile!!

A horror debut that has the scare box well and truly ticked! When you read a book where you are just tense ready for the ‘boo’ moment from the first chapter- it’s a good one. I will be waiting for this author’s next book and can’t wait for it!

Thanks to ZooLoo’s Book Tours, Question Mark Press for the gifted copy of this debut and my place on the tour.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Zoé-Lee O’Farrell – Ouija

Leave a comment