Sam Blake – High Pressure

A crime thriller is always going to be a go-to read for me, but a Sam Blake crime thriller makes it even more attractive. I read Dark Room her previous book in January this year and I really enjoyed it. I was dying to see just how good High Pressure was and took no time in diving right in!

As temperatures soar across Europe during the hottest summer for forty years, a series of hoax terrorist attacks is generating panic in London. Then a bus blows up on Oxford Street and the hoaxes have suddenly become real. 

Sam Blake

Student Brioni O’Brien has been desperately trying to contact her older sister since she unexpectedly returned early from travelling, so when Marissa’s bag is found near the site of the explosion, she fears the worst.

Teaming up with terrorism expert Anna Lockharte to search for Marissa, Brioni discovers that her sister had got herself into a very dangerous situation – and that now she and Anna could be caught in the fallout.

The synopsis alone was enough to grab me immediately. Then I started reading, it actually blew me away. Sam Blake has again written a fast paced and brilliantly plotted crime thriller. Her characters are so well developed and relatable. I was rooting for them all the way.

This book links the Cat Connolly trilogy with Sam Blake’s standalones, and does feature a character that has appeared in previous books. This doesn’t affect the readability of this book in any way, shape or form. It is perfect as a standalone.

One thing I do realise after reading this book is that the author seems to be an expert on bringing tension to her stories. In my review for The Dark Room, I mentioned the suspense and tension of the story, well I am a bit worried about repeating myself, but I have to say the tension and suspense are there in spades!

The story played out like I was there, the vividness of the scenes made it almost like a film playing out in my head. Add to that the characters and their stories. This is not just a story of terrorism, it is about friendships and everything around them too. The research Sam Blake has put into this is crystal clear. She has dealt with the terror plot so well.

This is a fantastic, thrilling and totally enthralling story, one that I recommend for any thriller fan who loves to be truly immersed and have characters they feel a little fond of as the story unfolds.

Thanks to ZooLoo’s Book Tours and Sam Blake for the copy of the book.

Buy Links

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/High-Pressure-totally-addictive-thriller-ebook/dp/B099W4DDRM

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/High-Pressure-totally-addictive-thriller-ebook/dp/B099W4DDRM

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

Leave a comment