Jan Durham – Death at the Abbey|@ZooloosBT| @InkubatorBooks|#JanDurham #DeathAtTheAbbey #ZooloosBookTours #KipperCottageMystery #SharonBeyondTheBooks

Death at the Abbey by Jan Durham is on its book tour, and I am posting my review with yet ANOTHER apology. My stop was 2 days ago, and I must apologise to ZooLoo’s Book Tours for my late post. I also need to thank ZooLoo’s Book Tours and Inkubator Books for my gifted copy of the book.

A cliff-top murder. A clever canine. A seaside sleuth.

After the death of her husband, Liz McLuckie has taken early retirement and moved to Whitby, a picturesque fishing town on the North Yorkshire coast. She thinks the renovation of two ramshackle fishing cottages will take her mind off things, but soon discovers Whitby isn’t quite the peaceful retreat she imagined.

When she discovers the body of a local Professor near the medieval Abbey, Liz reluctantly finds herself at the centre of a murder investigation. The post mortem reveals death by drowning. So how did he get onto the clifftop? And why did he have a fish in his pocket?

Liz follows the trail of the murderer, and many red herrings – both literal and metaphorical – in the company of her friends, including an almost-reformed burglar, a disgraced archaeology student and Nelson the bull terrier – the ugliest (and bravest!) dog in Yorkshire

The first book in the Kipper Cottage Mystery series. It was a cosy mystery story that I just had to accept the invitation for. Liz McLuckie has moved to Whitby after the death of her husband. She has bought two cottages to renovate to distract her enough to help her through this terrible time. She soon discovers Whitby, may not be as restful as she planned.

After she discovers the body of a man while she is walking, Nelson, a bull terrier that I already love. She discovers there is more to the mystery of the dead man. Then, another body is discovered,another man. She begins to think they could a link between both bodies. She decides to leave it to the police as she isn’t to keen on the new boss at the local police station. She finds herself finding more clues as she just goes about her normal life

Jan Durham has brought Whitby to life with her great detailed descriptions of the town. Liz is a great character who I cheered on constantly throughout. I loved her tenacity with the clues she found. The dogged way she irritated D.I Flint made me laugh, too.

This book is a fabulous start to the series. Well written, with characters that are interesting and colourful too. An intriguing plot with mystery and suspense that had me on the edge of my seat just waiting for the next twist to drop. All in all, a cosy mystery to curl up with of an evening

Author Bio

Jan Durham

I write the Kipper Cottage cozy crime series set in Whitby, featuring amateur sleuth Liz McLuckie and her motley assortment of friends – and of course Nelson, the bravest bull terrier in Yorkshire.

I’d love to live in Whitby (all that sand, sea and fish and chips!) but actually live just outside Edinburgh with my husband, three kids, a one-eyed whippet and a fat black pug. I began my writing career as an advertising copywriter, and have since had novels published by Random House and HarperCollins. I also write for tv.

I enjoy psychological thrillers and crime fiction of all kinds, from the coziest of cozies to the blackest of noirs. I love talking to my readers, so please do get in touch with me via my website – kippercottagemysteries.co.uk – or on Instagram – kippercottagemysteries

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Jan Durham – Death at the Abbey|@ZooloosBT| @InkubatorBooks|#JanDurham #DeathAtTheAbbey #ZooloosBookTours #KipperCottageMystery #SharonBeyondTheBooks

Leave a comment