Jack Byrne – Before The Storm (The Liverpool Mysteries Series Book 3)

Today, I’m joining the book tour for Before The Storm by Jack Byrne. Thanks to Dave and everyone at The Write Reads for allowing me to join and the gifted book to write my honest review.

YOUTHFUL PROMISES SHAPE LETHAL OUTCOMES

Historian Vinny Connolly tries to escape the bitter memories of his childhood in a tough neighbourhood. But a secret from the past, involving a pocket watch, an old man’s death, and childhood friends, threatens to unravel his present.

When one of those friends, Sammo, dies in mysterious circumstances, Vinny, his wife Helen, and his ex-partner Anne McCarthy race against time to uncover the truth.

A hit and run incident, text messages, and a murdered pet, all warn Vinny away from the investigation. A series of letters hold the key to Sammo’s life, and the secret to unlock the mystery of his death. Facing unexpected obstacles and police opposition Anne tries to overcome an accidental death verdict.

Set against the backdrop of a post-Brexit UK, this is a gripping tale of immigration, friendship, the power of secrets to shape our lives, and the value of resistance to authority.

Genre:  Historical Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

Length: 314 pages

Published: May 2023

The third book in The Liverpool Mysteries series of which I have read both of the previous books. Both intriguing and gripping mysteries. I would say you can read Before The Storm without the other two, but, I think you will appreciate the characters and plotlines so much more if you start from book one.

I was really pleased to be able to catch up with historian Vinny and find out more about his history. This book gripped me straight away. The author definitely knows how to ramp up the curiosity! We are taken right back to Vinny, Sammo, and Macca’s childhoods. Is there a connection to the present day in their pasts?

Told in Jack Byrne’s so readable way. It’s gritty. It’s real, and the characters are so authentic that I feel I could have a drive over to Liverpool and meet up with anyone from this series. What I really appreciate about this author is that he gives the reader the realism of living in Liverpool, how hard it was, and still can be. Living in Manchester is very similar. The struggles, the poverty in some parts, the crime. I could picture it all. I was taken back to the eighties and my own youth alongside the boys.

Before The Storm is a dark crime thriller that has enough suspense, mystery and danger running throughout to make it a page turner of the first degree. Yet another excellent instalment in The Liverpool Mystery Series that I highly recommend.

Author Bio


I was born and raised in Speke Liverpool, (Paul McCartney lived in the street behind us for a while) although my parents first lived ‘Under The Bridge’ in Garston, and all my family goes back to Wicklow in Ireland.

The Liverpool Mystery Series will be four novels. Under The Bridge is the first. I am writing Fire Next time now, and The Wicklow Boys will follow next year. You can find The One Road prequel a collection of short stories here on Amazon.

Published by Sharon

A book blogger https://sharonbeyondthebook.wordpress.com

Leave a comment